Alex Lahey

In 2016, Lahey won the Josh Pyke Partnership. Her track “You Don’t Think You Like People Like Me” received Pitchfork‘s Best New Track Award and was featured in the Triple J Hottest 100 of 2016. Lahey subsequently also won a Triple J Unearthed prize, leading to a slot to perform at Splendour in the Grass and a nomination for a J Award for Unearthed Artist of the Year. Lahey’s EP B-Grade University was then released later that year.
In January 2017, Lahey signed to Dead Oceans Records which re-released her B-Grade University EP. By October 6, 2017, she was able to release her debut album, I Love You Like a Brother, through her own independent label, Nicky Boy Records. The album ended up in several year-end albums-of-the-year lists, including those by Bandcamp Daily,Noisey, the Sydney Morning HeraldUnder the RadarBrooklyVegan, and Spin Magazine would also cite the album as one of the magazine’s 13 “Favorite Overlooked Albums of 2017”